The difference between a life lost and a life saved

St John Ambulance make the difference between a life lost and a life saved. Their first aid skills are the reason.

Last Thursday I conducted the annual inspection of around a dozen Cadets and Badgers of the Frimley and Camberley division of St John Ambulance. Aged from 5-10, you’re a Badger. From 10-16 then you’re a cadet. The inspection also included meeting many of the senior officers from Surrey County division, there as part of the annual inspection.

I was greeted by the President of Frimley and Camberley division, President Derek Franklin, a past mayor of Surrey Heath, and now an exalted Alderman.  Such friendly people.

Not quite knowing what was expected of me, I was delighted to be the figurehead that spoke to each of the Cadets and Badgers, who had been carefully lined up in rows for inspection. Initially, Superintendent Richard Beere introduced me to the Cadets and some of the senior members. Inspiring. Then Richard passed me to Serving Sister Sally Anne Nelson, who introduced me to the younger members.

Not only are young people are the lifeblood of organisations like this, but they too get something out of being a member – learning a first aid skill, making new friends, accepting and meeting challenges. When Badgers pass the first aid exam, they become Super Badgers, and gain a distinctive badge. That’s what I quizzed the Badgers about – how much they wanted that badge.

Now everyone with an iPhone can get life saving advice with the new St John Ambulance iPhone app.

What did I take away from the event? The young are not afraid of volunteering, but they do need dedicated adults to help them. My, I was impressed. Now, if they could only raise sufficient funds for another heart defribillator – ah well, the perennial concern for the voluntary sector – funds.

Hatip: John Nelson for pictures

Leave a comment

Filed under Voluntary organisations

Leave a comment